It is the 9 Republicans in the House of Representatives who voted for the electoral reform bill on January 6

Written by

Nine Republicans joined Democrats on Wednesday in voting for election reform legislation sponsored by two members of the House Select Committee on Jan. 6, 2021.

The bill entitled the Presidential Election Reform Act, adopted by a vote of 229-203.

Republican Reps. Liz Cheney (Wyo.), Adam Kinzinger (Ill.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), Peter Meijer (Mich.), Tom Rice (SC), John Katko (NY) , Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio) and Chris Jacobs (NY) sponsored the measure.

Cheney sponsored the bill with Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), and Kinzinger is also a member of the select committee investigating the events of January 6.

The legislation reforms the 1887 Electoral Count Act, confirming that the vice president’s role in certifying Electoral College votes is ministerial and raising the threshold for objecting to a state’s electors from one member of the House and one senator to one-third of both chambers.

In addition, the measure outlines constitutional grounds on which lawmakers can object to electoral votes and gives governors the responsibility of sending electoral appointments to Congress. It targets voter fraud that former President Trump’s team created in the wake of the 2020 presidential election, in addition to the pressure his allies put on states to replace their voters with those who would support Trump.

All nine Republicans who supported the election reform bill will not return to Congress next year, either because they chose not to run for re-election or were defeated in primaries by Trump-backed candidates.

Kinzinger, Upton, Katko, Gonzalez and Jacobs have all announced their retirement from the lower chamber, while Cheney, Herrera Beutler, Meijer and Rice lost their re-election primary.

In addition, eight of the nine Republicans who supported the Cheney-Lofgren bill — all but Jacobs — voted to impeach former President Trump days after the Jan. 6 attack on the Capitol.

The other two Republicans who voted to impeach Trump — Reps. David Valadao (Calif.) and Dan Newhouse (Wash.) — are on the November ballot. Valadao did not face a Trump-backed primary challenger this cycle, while Newhouse beat out an opponent who had the support of the former president.

Cheney argued for the election reform bill in remarks on the House floor Wednesday, calling it “excellent” and arguing that it will protect future elections and prevent an event like the Jan. 6 Capitol riot from happening again.

“This bill is a bill that will help protect the rule of law. This bill is a bill to help ensure that future elections cannot be stolen. This bill will ensure that the United States Congress in the future is very aware that we have a very limited number of objections that can be made, if any at all. And they are strictly limited to those outlined in the Constitution,” Cheney said.

“This bill is a very important and crucial bill to ensure that what happened on January 6 never happens again,” she added.

A bipartisan group of senators introduced their own bill in July reforming the vote count law, which is scheduled to be revised next week. A companion bill has been introduced in Parliament.

The Senate bill and the Cheney-Lofgren legislation are broadly similar, but have some important differences. The Senate bill, for example, requires only one-fifth of each chamber’s support to object to a state’s voters, while the Cheney-Lofgren bill requires one-third of each chamber.

Meijer said on Twitter Wednesday“I look forward to the ultimate bipartisan bicameral ECA reform bill.”

About the author

Leave a Comment